Sexual Abuse of Minors in Los Angeles
Defending Those Who Can’t Defend Themselves in Southern California
Sexual abuse of a minor is an extremely serious matter. At KMD Law, we treat such cases with the urgency and gravity they deserve—and we spare no mercy for those being charged with such crimes. As one of Los Angeles’ most trusted and successful law firms, we are committed to fight with every resource we have, and we promise to maintain compassion and empathy for you and your child while we do it.
What Is Sexual Abuse of a Minor & How Do I Report It?
Sexual abuse of a minor occurs when a perpetrator intentionally harms a minor physically and/or psychologically through a sexual encounter.
The state of California recognizes many sexual assault crimes against children, including:
- Forcing a minor into prostitution or marriage
- Child pornography
- Groping or touching
If you suspect that a child has been, or is in danger of being, sexually abused, contact the police or Child Protective Services immediately. Then, contact KMD Law.
The state of California defines child molestation slightly differently than other acts of sexual abuse against children. Child molestation can include many types of behavior such as inappropriate and nonconsensual touching, kissing, comments, advances, and more. Individuals convicted of such charges must register as sex offenders.
Statutory rape is defined in California as anyone having sex with a minor. Though it typically refers to a person over 18 having sex with someone younger than 18, it can also apply to two minors who have consented to have sexual intercourse with each other.
Because California's age of consent is 17, two consenting 17-year-olds who have had sex generally won't be changed. However, if an 18-year-old has sexual intercourse with a 17-year-old, the older individual could face charges of statutory rape.
If you’re concerned about a child in your life, don’t hesitate to contact us right away. We’re here to help.